The Oxford India Anthology of Twelve Modern Indian Poets
- by Arvind Krishna Mehrotra (Compiler) -
Rating (0) Add your rating
5 stars (0)
4 stars (0)
3 stars (0)
2 stars (0)
1 star (0)
Publisher: Oxford University Press, USA
Publication Date: June 17, 1993
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0195628675
ISBN-13: 978-0195628678
Synopsis In this book, Mehrotra has put together an unusually sensitive selection of fine verse in English by some of his best contemporaries. Many of the poems chosen either present new facets of recognized faces, or deliberately differ from those repeatedly on offer in the more standard, mimic anthologies. An insightful and analytical commentary includes essential biographical information, and introduces each of the poets. Although brief, these introductory pieces are so well written as to be of interest in themselves.

The poets who appear in this anthology are Nissim Ezekiel, Jayanta Mahapatra, A.K. Ramanujan, Arun Kolatkar, Keki N. Daruwalla, Dom Moraes, Dilip Chitre, Eunice de Souza, Adil Jussawalla, Agha Shahid Ali, Vikram Seth, and Manohar Shetty.

A must for those interested in poetry, this book will also be appreciated by those who would like to know more about the poetic usage of English in contemporary India.
Tags: poem, poet, India
Arvind Krishna Mehrotra
Meira Chand, Amitav Ghosh and Arvind Krishna Mehrotra talked about poetry.
Add a comment (myrthk membership is required) Rules and Regulations Join myrthk membership